softball-d1 flag

Wayne Staats | | August 5, 2021

Canada and Mexico softball played for bronze at the 2020 Olympics. All players competed in the NCAA

Danielle Lawrie breaks down her 3 best WCWS moments

When Canada and Mexico softball played for the bronze medal at the 2020 Summer Olympics, college softball fans may have recognized a few names.

And some maybe remembered just about all of them. That's because the two teams' 15-player rosters were made up entirely of former NCAA student-athletes. Canada ended up winning, 3-2, to secure the bronze medal. Emma Entzminger drove in a pair of runs in the second and Kelsey Harshman brought in the decisive run with a sacrifice fly in the fifth.

Here's a quick look at the rosters. Note that player information is from here.

Canada roster

Player School
Jenna Caira Syracuse
Emma Entzminger San Jose State
Larissa Franklin Western Kentucky
Jenny Gilbert Ball State
Sara Groenewegen Minnesota
Kelsey Harshman (Jenkins) Wisconsin
Victoria Hayward Washington
Danielle Lawrie Washington
Joey Lye Williams
Janet Leung Brown
Erika Polidori Oakland
Kaleigh Rafter Florida State
Lauren Regula-Bay Oklahoma State
Jennifer Salling Washington
Natalie Wideman California University of Pennsylvania

Going into the game, Canada had four pitchers combining for a 0.20 ERA. That included former Washington star Danielle Lawrie, whose 136 career victories ranks sixth and 1,733 strikeouts rank fourth all-time in Division I. Lawrie also won MOP honors as the 2009 Women's College World Series, where the Huskies won their first national championship.

Lawrie got the win in the bronze medal game, allowing only one hit in 2 1/3 innings.

Mexico roster

Player School
Stefania Aradillas San Diego State
Suzy Brookshire Long Beach State, San Jose State, Sacramento State
Brittany Cervantes Kentucky
Dallas Escobedo Arizona State
Tatyana Forbes NC State
Chelsea Gonzales Arizona State
Sierra Hyland Cal Poly
Taylor McQuillin Arizona
Nicole Mendes Oklahoma
Danielle O'Toole Arizona
Sashel Palacios Arizona State
Sydney Romero Oklahoma
Amanda Sanchez LSU
Anissa Urtez Utah
Tori Vidales Texas A&M

Danielle O'Toole, who played at San Diego State and Arizona, and Dallas Escobedo threw 31 of the 34 1/3 innings in the Olympics before facing Canada for bronze.

At the plate, Anissa Urtez leads with five hits, while two-time national champion Sydney Romero hit her first Olympic home run in a 5-0 win against Italy. Another Sooner on the roster, Nicole Mendes, won the NCAA title with OU this year.

Brookshire made history for Mexico in Tokyo, as the recent Long Beach State standout posted the first hit in Mexican Olympic history in the team's opener — also against Canada.

Steve McCown named NCAA softball national coordinator of umpires

Steve McCown, the newly named NCAA softball national coordinator of umpires, brings more than 30 years of umpiring experience to the job.

Women's College World Series adds two days

The Women's College World Series will have two extra days, allowing for schedule flexibility and additional rest for the players.

Video review challenges approved for softball

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel approved video review for softball beginning in the 2021-22 academic year.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners